Menu
Home Page

Meet the Governors

Lydden and River Primary Schools Federation Governing Body

Governors play a key role in school leadership and provide challenge and support to each school in achieving its ambitious aims and targets.

Improvement priorities are identified in the School Plan for each school. Governors undertake regular monitoring visits to the school to evaluate progress against these targets and to challenge leaders, holding us to account as we promote further improvement.

The Governing Body is made up of a combination of appointed, elected and co-opted Governors. The Clerk to the Governors services the work of the Governing Body by taking minutes, circulating agendas and documentation. Each Governor, other than the Headteacher, normally holds office for an agreed period.

Governors are responsible for ensuring:

  • Both school have an ambitious vision and very high expectations of all pupils and teachers.
  • Each school has high quality teaching with a focus on sustained improvement.
  • Each school develops leadership capacity and sets high professional standards among staff.
  • All staff in the federation benefit from professional development and that performance is rigorously managed.
  • Accurate evaluation of each school’s strengths and identification of the key areas to develop.
  • Each school provides a broad, balanced curriculum that meets the needs of all pupils, enabling them to make progress in their learning. The curriculum must also promote good behaviour and safety, as well as spiritual, moral, social and cultural development.
  • Each school engages parents in supporting pupil achievement and the wider aspects of their development.
  • The promotion of safety in the federation.

Please find below details of how our Governing body is structured, including the names, categories, responsibilities and terms of appointment for each Governor. 

 

LYDDEN & RIVER PRIMARY SCHOOL FEDERATION – GOVERNOR DETAILS

NAME

TERM OF OFFICE

from

TERM OF OFFICE

to

TEAM MEMBERSHIP

2019/2020

AREA(s) OF RESPONSIBILITY

EMAIL

Claire Eggleston

Executive Headteacher Governor

 

 

Resources

Learning & Development

 

eht@river.kent.sch.uk

 

Lisa Brown

LA Governor

10/09/2019

09/09/2023

Resources

(Vice-Chair)

Chair of Governors

Finance Governor

lbrown@river.kent.sch.uk

lisa@accounting-workshop.co.uk

David Metcalfe

Co-opted Governor

01/11/2019

31/10/2023

Learning & Development

(Chair)

 

David.Metcalfe@capel-le-ferne.kent.sch.uk

 

Peter Read

Co-opted Governor

01/11/2019

31/10/2023

Resources

(Chair)

Vice-Chair of Governors

H&S Governor

pread@river.kent.sch.uk

pejure@btinternet.com

Megan Rook

Co-opted Governor

01/11/2019

31/10/2023

Learning & Development

(Vice-Chair)

 

mrook@river.kent.sch.uk

megan@rookmail.com

Neil Brinicombe

Co-opted Governor

01/11/2019

31/10/2023

Resources

Learning & Development

Head of River School

headteacher@river.kent.sch.uk

 

Carla Lintott

Co-opted Governor

27/11/2019

26/11/2023

Resources

Learning & Development

Head of Lydden School

headteacher@lydden.kent.sch.uk

 

Fiona Donnelly

Co-opted Governor

12/11/2019

11/11/2023

Learning & Development

 

fdonnelly@river.kent.sch.uk

 

Jo Hulks

Co-opted Governor

12/02/2020

11/02/2024

Learning & Development

 

jhulks@river.kent.sch.uk

johulks@msn.com

VACANCY

Co-opted Governor

 

 

 

 

 

Ann Salisbury

Staff Governor

01/11/2019

31/10/2023

Learning & Development

T&D Governor

asalisbury@river.kent.sch.uk

 

Katy Grilli

Parent Governor

15/11/2017

14/11/2021

Learning & Development

SEND Governor

Safeguarding Governor

kgrilli@river.kent.sch.uk

katyjgrilli@gmail.com

Robert Nicholas

Parent Governor

15/11/2017

14/112021

Resources

 

rnicholas@river.kent.sch.uk

rob@abwoodcnc.co.uk

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Maureen McCutcheon

Governors Clerk

 

 

 

 

Clerk@river.kent.sch.uk

maureen.mccutcheon@theeducationpeople.org

 

 

 

 

 

                                            

                            

 

 

 

 

 


 

Top